Daily Walk

Today I took my walk.

It was my regular, mid-afternoon quarantine walk

Where my goal is to get 8,000 steps in a day as opposed to

my pre-quarantine 12,000 steps).

Where I aimed to get some vitamin D

and clear my mind.

But today was different.

Today, my goal was to shake off the fear

of leaving my house.

Where I worked to quell the unease of police cars driving through my neighborhood

Where I forced myself not to worry about what the passing strangers–

my neighbors even–

Truly think about me.

Today, during my walk, I thought about those with

Skin like mine

Who can’t walk, job, sleep, work, drive, be at home, have a cell phone, get home from a party, go to the store, play cops and robbers, go to church, celebrate their marriage, get a traffic ticket, read a book, look at birds, spend time with family, breath, or live.

Those with skin like mine who cannot do the things that

other lawful (white) citizens

Get to do fearlessly.

Today, I carried the

Rage

Fear

Sadness

Emptiness

Fatigue

and

Trauma

That is inflicted on those with

Skin like mine

My brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, moms, dads, husbands, wives, students, friends, colleagues

Using chains, ropes, bullets, cells, false accusation

And hatred.

And I wonder-

How much more can a people take

Before they fight back?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Walk

Add yours

Feel free to share your thoughts, advice, and personal experiences!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

JUST 1 VOICE

Some Thoughts on Following Jesus in the (2)1st Century

black|burgundy

conversations + musings

The Next Chapter

“Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it..” — Maya Angelou

e_novaturient

Inspiring you to change the world

Sonya Huber

books, essays, etc.

@lisajangyoga

Yin Yoga Muse, Spiritual Awakening & Evolution

The Brevity Blog

Essays Exploring craft and the writing life

Thomason's Take

thoughts, photography, inspiration

fromlucindatonow

Thinking out loud about things I care deeply about

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Dr. K. L. Register

Just a small town girl who writes about Christian stuff.

The Shine Within The Shadows

Fictional/Nonfictional Stories & Poetry

Beautiful Ashes

Forever pursuing Jesus

Lily Ellyn

Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.